Rus Eng
Nizhny Tagil. Vitaly
Vitaly was born with cerebral palsy but he studies at a regular school and is considered to be one of its best students
Yekaterinburg. Dina
Dina was diagnosed with a mental disease when she already graduated from a college. Her living conditions in childhood most probably provoked contraction of the disease: her mother was imprisoned and returned back when Dina was 15. She used to live all her life with her dad and stepmother.
Yekaterinburg. Dima
Both his parents have died of drug abusement. His mother gave birth to many children but never took care of any of them. Some of her known children are at children's homes, some were adopted. Dima happened to be the luckiest of all: he was taken by his granny who is strong, caring and loving.
Yekaterinburg. Dina
Dina was diagnosed with a mental disease when she already graduated from a college. Her living conditions in childhood most probably provoked contraction of the disease: her mother was imprisoned and returned back when Dina was 15. She used to live all her life with her dad and stepmother.
Yekaterinburg. Inna
Inna is holding her own portrait which dates back to her last years of normal healthy life. She laughs at me when I ask if she can really walk out and tells a horrible story of what’s thought of as a malpractice. When she was giving a birth in 1970 a midwife broke her pubic articulation. A bracket was installed but after 35 years it became completely loose.
Yekaterinbrg. Albert
“Never in my life I ate tasty food. In the childhood I was starving and later I always had only low-quality meals at the factory where I had been working. The soup at the factory canteen reminded a thin broth, and the main course had always been just awful. So when I started to attend Hesed diet kitchen I couldn’t believe my own happiness. Never ever in my whole life I was offered so tasty food!”
Yekaterinburg. Lesha
Lesha underwent 4 cardiac surgeries during the first month of his life. After one of the surgeries he was prescripted with strong antibiotics which made him deaf
Cheljabinsk. Yulja
Upon giving birth to Yulia her mother was attacked by hospital personnel and by her own parents who were trying to convince her to abandon the baby with severe cerebral palsy. For Yulia's mother it was completely unacceptable: "How would I eat, sleep, enjoy my life knowing that my poor sick child is somewhere with strangers?"
Yekaterinburg. Dina
Large family
A year ago X. had an attempted suicide episode and now busy "doing nothing" as he defines it himself. All the family, regardless of his gruffness, treats him warmly, with a great love, especially Z. who all the time hangs on him like a little monkey.
Yekaterinburg
The family consists of 2 disabled persons, father and daughter. On this picture a "Menora' curator paying visit to her clients is shown
Cheljabinsk. Frida
Frida's deep depression lasts for 7 years so far since her son passed away. Frida's nowadays life is filled with nothing else but remembering her son. He was a known composer and musician, widely acknowledged in the region
Yekaterinburg
A year ago X. had an attempted suicide episode and now busy "doing nothing" as he defines it himself. All the family, regardless of his gruffness, treats him warmly, with a great love
Cheljabinsk. T.
One of T's sons used to be an infant prodigy. When he grew up he tried to kill himself by jumping off a roof. He fractured his spine and will stay bed-bound till the end of his days. T's husband is bed-bound as well. She has another son but doesn't even want to tell about him, just mentioning that "he is problematic." T. has no relatives besides the sons and spouse.
Cheljabinsk
One of T's sons used to be an infant prodigy. When he grew up he tried to kill himself by jumping off a roof. He fractured his spine and will stay bed-bound till the end of his days. T's husband is bed-bound as well. She has another son but doesn't even want to tell about him, just mentioning that "he is problematic." T. has no relatives besides the sons and spouse.
Cheljabinsk
"As someone said, a rich man is the one who has enough, and not the one who has a lot," pronounces Igor's mother as we stand in the middle of a kitchen besides an almost empty fridge.
Yekaterinburg
She had been working all her life at a pharmacy despite of cerebral palsy evolved as a result of a disease she had in childhood. She can barely move around, and last 8 years she doesn't go out at all. She used to live with her parents until they passed away, all their life they were sharing one dense room of a communalka.
Cheljabinsk. Edward
Edward got back from a hospital just one day prior to my visit. He was diagnosed with cancer
Cheljabinsk. Frida
Frida's deep depression lasts for 7 years so far since her son passed away. Frida's nowadays life is filled with nothing else but remembering her son. He was a known composer and musician, widely acknowledged in the region
Cheljabinsk. Polina with her mother
Little Polina resides with her parents in a falling apart house. Local authorities planned to demolish it back in 1980s but it never happened
Cheljabinsk
This family resides in a falling apart house. Local authorities planned to demolish it back in 1980s but it never happened

RusEng
Нижний Тагил. Виталик
Виталик родился с ДЦП, но это не мешает ему учиться в обычной школе и быть там одним из лучших учеников. Помимо прочих предметов, он любит физкультуру.
Екатеринбург. Дина
Когда Дина закончила техникум, у нее диагностировали психическое заболевание. Вероятнее всего, оно явилось следствием трудного детства Дины: ее мать была в тюрьме, она впервые встретилась с ней в возрасте 15 лет.
Екатеринбург. Дима
Оба родителя Димы умерли от болезней, вызванных наркоманией. Его мать родила много детей. Некоторые из них попали в детские дома, некоторые растут в приемных семьях. Диме повезло больше всех: его воспитывает родная бабушка.
Екатеринбург. Дина
Когда Дина закончила техникум, у нее диагностировали психическое заболевание. Вероятнее всего, оно явилось следствием трудного детства Дины: ее мать была в тюрьме, она впервые встретилась с ней в возрасте 15 лет.
Екатеринбург. Инна
У Инны в руках ее фотография, сделанная 35 лет назад, в последний год ее нормальной, здоровой жизни. Когда я спрашиваю, выходит ли она на улицу, она горько смеется: даже по квартире она передвигается с большим трудом после того, как в 1970 году при родах она получила травму.
Екатеринбург. Альберт
"Мне никогда в жизни не доводилось вкусно поесть. В детстве я вообще голодал, а потом, поступив работать на завод, питался комплексными обедами: баландой да котлетами, в которых булки было больше, чем всего остального. Так что когда я начал посещать благотворительную столовую в Хеседе, я был просто счастлив: впервые у меня появилась возможность нормально питаться".
Екатеринбург. Леша
За первые месяцы жизни Леша перенес 4 операции на сердце. После одной из операций ему прописали сильные антибиотики, которые лишили его слуха
Челябинск. Юля
Юлину маму пытались убедить отказаться от ребенка, родившегося с тяжелейшим ДЦП. На этом настаивал и персонал роддома, и родители Юлиной мамы. Но этот вариант был для нее абсолютно неприемлем: "Я бы не смогла жить дальше — пить, есть, веселиться, зная, что мой бедный, больной ребенок живет где-то с чужими людьми".
Екатеринбург. Дина
Многодетная семья
Год назад Н. предпринял попытку суицида. Сейчас на вопрос, чем он занят в жизни, он отвечает: "Ничем. Абсолютно ничем". Невзирая на угрюмость, связанную со сложным периодом в жизни Н., вся семья относится к нему с огромной теплотой и любовью, особенно А., его маленькая сестренка, которая без конца виснет на нем, как обезьянка.
Екатеринбург
Семья состоит из двух инвалидов. Слева на снимке - куратор из благотворительной организации "Менора"
Челябинск. Фрида
7 лет назад вследствие смерти сына у Фриды началась глубокая депрессия. На сегодняшний день ее жизнь состоит из воспоминаний о нем. Он был известным композитором и музыкантом.
Екатеринбург
Год назад Н. предпринял попытку суицида. Сейчас на вопрос, чем он занят в жизни, он отвечает: "Ничем. Абсолютно ничем". Невзирая на угрюмость, связанную со сложным периодом в жизни Н., вся семья относится к нему с огромной теплотой и любовью.
Челябинск. Т.
Один из сыновей Т. в детстве был вундеркиндом, а когда вырос, сбросился с крыши. Сломав в результате этого 4 позвонка, он остался на всю жизнь лежачим инвалидом. Муж Т. тоже лежачий инвалид. О втором своем сыне Т. даже не хочет рассказывать: "он у меня проблемный". Всех троих своих мужчин Т. тащит на себе в одиночку, в прямом и переносном смысле.
Челябинск
Один из сыновей Т. в детстве был вундеркиндом, а когда вырос, сбросился с крыши. Сломав в результате этого 4 позвонка, он остался на всю жизнь лежачим инвалидом. Муж Т. тоже лежачий инвалид. О втором своем сыне Т. даже не хочет рассказывать: "он у меня проблемный". Всех троих своих мужчин Т. тащит на себе в одиночку, в прямом и переносном смысле.
Челябинск
"Как кто-то умный сказал, богат не тот, у кого много, а тот, кому хватает", — произносит мама Игоря. Разговор происходит на кухне возле пустого холодильника.
Екатеринбург
До выхода на пенсию Зинаида работала в аптеке, несмотря на ДЦП, из-за которого она с трудом может передвигаться. Последние 8 лет она вообще не выходит на улицу. Пока ее родители были живы, она жила с ними. Вся ее жизнь прошла в одной тесной комнате коммуналки.
Челябинск. Эдуард
Эдуард вернулся из больницы накануне моего визита. Там ему сообщили диагноз: рак
Челябинск. Фрида
7 лет назад вследствие смерти сына у Фриды началась глубокая депрессия. На сегодняшний день ее жизнь состоит из воспоминаний о нем. Он был известным композитором и музыкантом.
Челябинск. Полина и ее мама
Полина живет с родителями в разваливающемся доме, который власти планировали снести еще в 80-е годы прошлого века.
Челябинск
Семья живет в разваливающемся доме, который власти планировали снести еще в 80-е годы прошлого века, но так и не снесли.